free hit
counters
V6 350 Rear Speakers? - Interior/Exterior/Lights/Glass/Alarms/ICE/HVAC/Other - The Lotus Forums #ForTheOwners Jump to content

V6 350 Rear Speakers?

Hi all, disclaimer - I am a complete novice when it comes to car audio (or any audio, really) but yesterday replaced the Clarion HU in my 350 with a new Pioneer unit and swapped out the front speakers for Focal 100AC's - time and money well spent! Next things: fit a sub and rear speakers.

However my car didn't come with rear speakers and I unscrewed the round blanking plate behind the driver's seat but there doesn't appear to be any speaker wire in there to fit them.

Does anyone have experience wiring in rear speakers? Where to wire them in to and how to route said wire through the car?

Thanks in advance

• 2 weeks later...

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Hi there, was the same for me in that I couldn't see rear speaker wires behind the plastic speaker covers. When I spoke to my local Lotus garage in Bell & Colvill, they advised that the stereo loom used is a "standard" one that includes wires for the rear speakers; and that the wires are probably wrapped/tucked up behind the rear plastic panel (behind the seats). However, getting to them would involve removing the said rear plastic panel, which would mean removing the passenger seat and seat belts first, so not the most straightforward of jobs. So, I decided to wire my own cables from the head unit to the rear speakers. 

Firstly with reference to PhilS post here: https://www.thelotusforums.com/forums/topic/73227-worth-replacing-the-speakers-in-the-v6s/?do=findComment&comment=590330
Points 3 and 4 describe how to get the speaker cable from the head unit along beneath the airbag and (under) the sill along its length; protruding at the location where the lever of the boot resides.