free hit
counters
Any panel beaters here? Opinions on this please! - Lotus / Motoring / Cars Chat - The Lotus Forums Jump to content

Any panel beaters here? Opinions on this please!

Hi all!

So sometimes my Facebook feed churns out stuff that I actually find interesting and relevant - as opposed to pictures of someone's latest spawn, vacation, targeted product ads or charged political diatribe debating the merits of liberal democracy.

Some dudes in (I assume China) going by the names Mechanic Steve and Mechanic Chris put up these fascinating videos of wrecked cars that they erm..."rectify" by pulling the panels straight, cutting out sections, grafting on new ones, repainting etc. They seem to do it all.

Here's a case in point:

As an engineer, I can't help but ask myself to what degree are repaired vehicles like this safe afterward. The discussion on Facebook is infantile at best, and I suspect many if not most are simply opining out of their arses. 

So, qualified panel beaters and vehicle repairers, what say ye? (other than HOLY S##T WELDING WITHOUT EYE PROTECTION!) 

• Like 1

Vanya Stanisavljevic '91 Esprit SE | '97 XK8

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I've seen similar done at banger races, but they usually end up just as bad or worse 10 mins later 

Hi all! So sometimes my Facebook feed churns out stuff that I actually find interesting and relevant - as opposed to pictures of someone's latest spawn, vacation, targeted product ads or charged

My brother was a panel-beater, and I spent many an hour watching. On a positive note at least these guys are pulling the car into shape before removing panels, too many people make the mistake of tryi

Wow! 
Clearly skilled guys even without safety assessments or understanding!