free hit
counters
'85 MY TE Reversing lights (not) - Interior/Exterior/Lights/Glass/Alarms/ICE/HVAC - The Lotus Forums #ForTheOwners Jump to content

'85 MY TE Reversing lights (not)

• Gold FFM

Hi all,

Why might I only be getting 3.84V from the reversing light switch ? does it mean the switch itself is knackered, or might there be some other reason ? I have cleaned and emery'd the contacts on the switch.

Not being an expert, I would have thought the switch either works or not ? Is this not the case? I not, please could someone explain the physics to me ... ?

I only noticed some voltage when replacing bulbs with LEDs. V.small light with low voltage, but clearly not enough to drive  fliament bulb ...

TIA,

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Apparently, a bit of the smoke from the wiring has escaped. You need this:spacer.png

++++++++++++

More seriously, obtain a multimeter.

With the transmission reverse switch disconnected, measure the resistance or Ohms (on the lowest scale possible) across its contacts. Should be  INFINITE (some meters display "1").

Then select reverse on the gearstick, and take more readings. Should change the state to ZERO (less than 0.5 ohm) .

If the reading doesn't change between forward and reverse, it's the switch. (IIRC not uncommon).  If the switch readings are as described, we will dive into the wiring.

++++++++

An alternate check would be to measure VOLTAGE with the ignition ON.  You should have within one volt of the battery voltage, measured between one or the other of the contacts, to the trans case.

Post back with results.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

Atwell Haines

'88 Esprit

Succasunna, NJ USA

• Gold FFM
10 minutes ago, CarBuff said:

Apparently, a bit of the smoke from the wiring has escaped. You need this:spacer.png

++++++++++++

More seriously, obtain a multimeter.