free hit
counters
Idle air control valve - Engine/Ancilliaries - The Lotus Forums Jump to content

Idle air control valve

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Steve,

Just drop in at a local bearing supplier.

They will usually match it up at the counter.

Frequently no charge for a single O ring or 50p for the tea kitty max.

Andy

• Gold FFM

If you can find out the dimensions I use Simply Bearings for O-rings, they have a huge selection and good descriptions of the different materials available. Nitrile is probably the most common and would be fine for this application, I tend to use Viton for more demanding loads (but I am no expert so may have this completely wrong). 😇

https://simplybearings.co.uk/shop/Products-O-Ring-Seals/c4747_4515/index.html

cheers

-Chris

Thanks for the replies, I have been chasing a running rich problem for the last 3 months with code 26 showing very rarely. In the last couple of days I have tested the 8 relays and one remaining solenoid in the relay box in the rear of my S4, all seem ok.Today I tested the secondary injector resistor,this afternoon the resistance between the two used pins was first infinity and after a good shaking about 15 ohms, tonight about 3ohms unchanged when shaken.Doh.Has anyone had this resistor apart? Is it the wire wound type?Does anyone know the specifications of B082M6442F or an alternative that doesn’t throw the check engine light 

l have had the charcoal canister off.With No current to solenoid , no air can be sucked out of the purge orifice, current then air ,so solenoid seems ok. It did not have fuel in its reservoir when I removed it.I realise this still leaves its wiring and signal to be tested. Is it possible to test for the ecu signal?

Comments welcome 

Hi Steve,

The soldering quality inside the relays and the ballast resistor is usually quite dodgy and the soldered joints crack due to vibration.