free hit
counters
Couple of noob questions - Misc including parts cross references - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
davegtst

Couple of noob questions

Please forgive me i'm still learning about them. :shock:

1. Where should the oil temp gauge needle usually sit while driving?

2. Where should the oil pressure gauge needle usually sit while driving?

3. Where should the water temp gauge needle sit while driving?

4. Should the fans come on when i turn the ignition on?

Thanks Dave

Edited by davegtst

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

1. Between 80 & 100. 80 when driving, 100 in traffic.

2. Around the middle, about 4 on the gauge but it can drop very low at tickover.

3. Mine sits dead on 80.

4. Only if the A/C is on. The fans come on for that if it's on and your under 30mph.

:shock:

88 Esprit NA, 89 Esprit Turbo SE, Evora, Evora S, Evora IPS, Evora S IPS, Evora S IPS SR, Evora 400, Elise S1, Elise S1 111s, Evora GT410 Sport

Evora NA

For forum issues, please contact the Moderators. I will aim to respond to emails/PM's Mon-Fri 9-6 GMT. 

Thanks Bibs, my oil temp stays around 60-70 and oil pressure seems fine. Also the water temp sit exactly on 80 too. Maybe i have a problem with the fans as they are on without the a/c on. My oil temp also takes quite a long time to heat up, does anyone recomend an oil thermostat?

hello everyone.

my oil temp usually reads 60, up to 80 in traffic.

water temp sits at a steady 80

oil pressure - is always above the middle mark when driving / drops on tickover

my fuel guage moves up and down when driving is this the norm?

the charge cooler is cool to the touch

all the best

It's Oogies turn to boogie

The bouncy needle is a, errr, 'feature' of the car! :shock:

Go around a right hand corner and speed and you can fill your tanks up in seconds, it's amazing :evil: