free hit
counters
Ready to Blow up a car repair shop - Interior/Exterior/Lights/Glass/Alarms/ICE/HVAC - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
CBrownstead

Ready to Blow up a car repair shop

Recently something flew up off the road and whacked my cvboot loose from the hub . . . I tried to get it back on, I am not a novice mechanic, I have changed the clutch, adjusted timing belt, etc . . . on this car and many many others for years. I have even worked on jaguar's and some ferrari's that I own, that is a right of passage . . . anyway. I took the esprit into the lotus dealer, and THEY CANNOT GET THE BOOT BACK ON THE HUB !!!!. They want me to pay to remove the half shaft and install a new one . . .WTH!!!!!! I was livid and furious . . . I mean that is ridiculous, I still have the 2 metal straps that hold the boot on and the boot is fine, it is tight, not disformed . . . what a rip off . . . they are talking $800 in labor and parts . . . crazy . . . any tips . . .

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

If you have some fine sheet metal then use that, else use some firm plastic sheet, form it into a cone, tape it in place and slide the boot along it onto the hub.

You may need 4 hands to do the job, two to hold the cone, 2 to slide the boot along the cone.

Andy

good idea . . . i found some discontinued tools on ebay for the job, but the fact that they are not made anymore was discouraging. I also thought about forming some strong metal rod into a circle bigger than the hub and then stretching the boot over the circle, putting it over the hub, and then removing the circle wire . . .just a pain . . . cannot beleive it is this big a deal.

This any good?

http://www.uktools.com/product_info.php?products_id=5323

I just did a google for CV boot tool

Amateurs built the Ark

Professionals built the Titanic

"I haven't ridden in cars pulled by cows before" "Bullocks, Mr.Belcher" "No, I haven't, honestly"