free hit
counters
Renault transmission seals - Gearchange/Gearbox/Clutch - The Lotus Forums Jump to content

Renault transmission seals

Hi Guys... Dave and I have replaced the right side axle seal in the renault box now 3 times... and it still leaks... I'm getting extremely frustrated with this... has anybody got any suggestions?

Modifying esprit's.. now that's fun..

PS... I AM NOT A CERTIFIED MECHANIC.. I Have chosen to help those in need, in the past and must not be construed as being a certified technician.

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Is it definately coming from the outer seal?

Not via the O-ring or roll pins?

What was the surface of the end of the driveshaft like? I know one of mine had to be more than just 'cleaned up'. More like re-surfaced with wet and dry and repolished.

• Gold FFM

I echo the point about O-rings.

They should be changed every time the seals are replaced and after fitting, the roll pins should be sealed with silicone sealant.

My Lotus main-agents failed to replace the O rings at each of two seal replacements and oil drips continued to be excessive. I found this out by buying all the bits for a third replacement intending to do the work myself, and noticed that on previous invoices there were no O rings mentioned.

In the end, the dealers did the work for me for the cost of the parts (less a further discount). They even replaced the oil free-of-charge.

The effect was immediate and some six weeks later, everything continues to be as dry as a bone.

Mark,

Ditto on the o-rings and silicone. Also check the area on the half shaft that comes in contact with the seal and see if it has a noticeable wear groove in it.

Also are you sure you have it set to the correct depth, do you have the seal insert tool?

1995 S4s