free hit
counters
Replacement engine not starting - ECU/Freescan/Espritmon - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Nigel

Replacement engine not starting

Have fitted replacement engine from Douglas Valley breakers and it will not start. The engine came complete with it's engine loom and sensors. I am getting fuel at the fuel rail but have not tested for a spark or taken the injector rail off to see if the injectors are firing. I am not wanting to spend too much time turning the engine over without oil pressure so I obtained a Freescan cable from the LEF shop and thought I would give it a go first.

When I ran Freescan initially it had a code 34 trouble code, MAP sensor voltage too low.

I have attached the CSV file with the engine not running and ignition on.

nigel1.csv

Any advice Freescan related or not appreciated.

Nigel

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Hi Nigel,

First of all let me say up front that I am no expert!

However, comparing your sensor readings to the typical values mentioned in my Freescan manual ....

Coolant temp sensor 2.51V @ 17.8 degC doesn't look right. The typical values from the manual are more like 1.73V @ 37degC and 3.24V @ 60degC. At a guess 2.51V would be 40-50 degC. Strange that it reports the correct temperature..

MAT sensor 3.94V @ 19.3degC looks OK. Typical values from manual are 4.2V @11degC and 3.5V @ 28degC.

Baro reading 0.84 looks about right.

MAP 0.86 looks about right too although I would expect it to be the same as Baro..

Does the sensor page in Freescan say the same thing?

Did your fault 34 clear?

However, whether any of the above prevent the engine from starting? Afraid I'm not sure. I would have thought that even 'limp home' mode with the CEL on would have let her run in some sort of manner.

I guess the basics of fuel, spark etc. are the more important checks initially.

Hopefully someone a bit more knowledgable will be along shortly!

Good luck,

K