free hit
counters
CRUNCHY REVERSE - Gearchange/Gearbox/Clutch - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
50nny

CRUNCHY REVERSE

Hello, guys. I'm new to LEF. I have a 2001 Esprit V8 which has a crunchy reverse as soon as the engine reaches normal temp. Can anyone share an advice or two to remedy this symptom?

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Whatever you do don't force and bang it into reverse. That crunch is the cross shaft finger picking both the reverse and second rods at the same time. Crunching it is a good way to ruin second.

Have it, as well as your hydraulics, inspected and adjusted by somebody experienced with the mechanism, master/slave/line and their foibles.

===========================

I'm thinking of doing an internal modification to my cross shaft and selector rods. If successful I'll let you know. If not....

Edited by DanR

DanR

My money is on a marginally dragging clutch, so like Dan says, have it checked. You mention when hot, so, I'm not sure what type of hydraulic hose you have, the early ones had plastic which expanded under heat, causing a dragging clutch. Most people have gone to braided hose, which fixed the problem. It may be just a simple adjustment.

Roger

Life is like a sewer, what you get out of it, depends on what you put into it. (Tom Leahrer)

The V8's all had braided clutch lines.

Usually when the UN1 gearbox grinds into reverse it's because the clutch isn't fully disengaging the input shaft and there is no synchro on reverse. As Dan said, check the hydraulics. Does it help if you shift to first gear and then try to go to reverse?

1995 S4s