free hit
counters
Timing belts - accessability - Engine/Ancilliaries - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Dave Freeman

Timing belts - accessability

It sounds a bit dramatic or dangerous, weakening the structure and all that, however, being able to get at those difficult to reach parts would be good. I am a professional engineer and familiar with stressed structures so cutting a circular hole about 6 to 7 inches in diameter in the bulkhead would not raise the stresses or weaken the structure, a steel plate would replace the removed plywood.

Has anyone thought of this or indeed done it, not having changed the belts my self I was not looking forward to removing the engine or changing them blind, hanging over the engine and all that (due end of year its been 4000 miles and 4 years).

Any comments and or observations would be good

Many thanks

Dave

Edited by Dave Freeman

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Been done before, Lotus apparently state the body is not truly structural so the bulkhead can be cut without impacting the safety of the car.

I've thought about it just not had time.

Interesting, when I spoke to Sparky at teh weekend he said that the bulkhead was double thickness, but should not be a problem. I may give this a go,

Thanks for the input Andy.

Cheers bibs, did not thinks to do a search, silly me, sent u a PM on freescan FYI

Regards

Dave

Dave - my only comment would be that a 6/7 inch hole would still not be enough to do the entire job, and would still entail running around top/bottom to do the belt runs. It's not a great improvement on just doing it from underneath!

Sparky, hi mate - still no engine check light, hooraaayyy.