free hit
counters
Lotus Esprit - BMW V12 - running ! - Esprit 'Project & Restoration' Room - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
lotusross

Lotus Esprit - BMW V12 - running !

It's been a long time - but it is a little closer to operating down the street on it's own power.

Check out this link - a BMW V12 powered S1.

I still have some cleaning up to do - I won't be happy until it is perfect - but it is getting there.

http://s287.photobucket.com/albums/ll123/l...nt=HPIM0700.flv

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Absolutely manic! Wish I had time to do something like that...

British Ambassador to Florida, New York, Denmark and Newfoundland.  And Sweden.

You crazy crazy (in a very good way) man! Wow... I can't believe you've gotten that far in such a short time!! WELL DONE!

Modifying esprit's.. now that's fun..

PS... I AM NOT A CERTIFIED MECHANIC.. I Have chosen to help those in need, in the past and must not be construed as being a certified technician.

Great work,

Its a great feeling when the thing fires up for the first time, the smell of petrol and success :D

Keep us posted,

Regards danny

A

Just came across your thread, Jason. What an undertaking! :clap:

Several questions:

How did you come into possession of the engine? Is it out of an 850? What is the expected HP output?

How did you adapt the engine mounts?

And most importantly how will it mate to the transaxle, and (as Brian has alluded to) if it's still stock what are your plans for dealing with the additional power?

Will be watching with great interest for the final results of the project. Should be a holy terror on the streets! :)

Being second is to be the first of the ones who lose.

Thank you all for your positive words.

A little update - I have cleaned up the wiring, and today I will install the Rad.

Yesterday I had to pull and then reinstall the transaxle due to a problem with the clutch - it would not disengage. Also - the retainer clip slipped off.