free hit
counters
New Lotus S1 Member - Introductions - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
toddk

New Lotus S1 Member

HI , well I am new to the Lotus experience, I have been advised and told not to purchase an S1 Lotus, they say its a labour of love, but I really do like the early styling of the car! I am ready for the challange. I am a car guy I collect American muscle and exotics my web site is www.toddsclassiccars.com . check it out . I ended up purchasing two Lotus Esprit S1's. One is an early 1976 S1 and the other is a 1977 S1, one is right hand drive , the other is left hand drive. I am trying to find the chassis number for the 76, it is missing the vin# and is incomplete, but to be honest I have researched and do believe it may be one of the three conceptions used in the Spy who loved me, bond film, I know they had two hero cars, which one is in a museum in the UK and the other sold at auction last year to a collector in the US. The other four were just shells and used for the submarine shots and design, which leaves three shells used is various states of production, the one used to drive off the pier which was air powered with no engine, and the other two water cars that were waterproofed and pulled out of the water for the screen shots. The interior shows signs of water damage, there is no vin#, color is white with the tartan interior, and some of the dash area has been cut where it looks like some of the gadgetry was. I plan on using the 77 S1 to make the 76 S1 a complete and running car, I am restoring it because I love the styling of the S1 the Bond thing if it is legitimate or not is just a cool plus. We will see, if anyone can tell me the location of the chassis number that would be a big help. Thanks! Todd

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

A big welcome to LEF/TLF Todd! Great story,look forward to hearing more of this!!!! You are in the right place for help,advice,support