free hit
counters
Where to buy Burroughs Gauge or similar please? - Engine & Ancilliaries/Gearbox - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Guest mkelite

Where to buy Burroughs Gauge or similar please?

Guest mkelite

can anyone please advise best place or tool supplier website to buy a Burroughs gauge or very similar? many thanks. DC.

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

This area of the forum is for technical questions regarding the engines of these particular models so is in essence the wrong place for this post, hence the lack of people reading it, therefore replies.

Put a post in the 'General Motoring' section, you'll have more chance of a response in there.

Dave Bean has them @ $395USD

David - at great risk of your not reading this one(!), I've been doing cambelts for over 30 years, most of them by instinct and deflection, and have NEVER had one slip or snap. For Lotus, I use a Krikit, which is eminently up to the job if you have a modicum of common sense. For info I've recently done a couple of Lotus belts that were so loose that I was able to dismount them with thumb and forefinger, and they drove miles to me.

The Burroughs gauge is a monstrosity with a ludicrous price tag. Don't believe all the scare stories you read!

(Dons flak jacket/hard hat)

Guest mkelite

hi Gary. how r u? thanks for that. i was actually expecting someone to say that. but thats the prob for me. someone like u has that experience and i just had that nightmare with my cam belt saga so dont wanna get it wrong. many have said about the krikit gauge and i know many do use it. the manufacturer told me it wasnt any good for cambelts ironically! all i really need its a goal post to set by cos i think i need to replace the tensioner as im still a bit nervous about that noise. i know u think im prob being over cautious but just wanna get sorted. so any other suggestions please. regards. DC.