free hit
counters
A 'Clack' + This look normal and/or healthy? - Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Hubs/Steering/Geo - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
fesuvious

A 'Clack' + This look normal and/or healthy?

Now, I am not an expert on this godforsaken Lotus Braking system, but, thought I would investigate this evening a 'clack' at the top of my pedal. If you tap the pedal, there is a 'clack' and freeplay.

Whilst under the bonnet, (after pressing the pedal 40times!) I lifted the cap off the reservoir, and here is what I was faced with; This look normal?

post-9573-050288800 1276622723.jpg

post-9573-025095700 1276622714.jpg

The flash off the camera hasn't changed the look, thats exactly how it is.

Any clues, on either the fluid or indeed the 'clack'?

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Fluid should be crystal clear so it definately needs changing.

That milky colour would suggest to me water contamination. Thats a very bad thing for a number of reasons, first an foremost, it reduces the boiling point of your fluid, thus during heavy braking the fluid can/will boil and introduce air into the system and can render the brakes useless....

Secondly, corrosion internally of all parts of the braking system....

Get it changed!!!

The clack you hear may just be a bit of play in the pin that locates the pedal to the actuator arm of the brake push rod. There should be fee play in the pedal itself but the clacking noise should ideally be identified and rectified...

Where are you located might be easier to do all this in 1 go !

You remind me of myself when I got the car - took the thing completely to bits and pit it back together again :)

The fluid is 'normal' for most braking systems of this type.

The setup is a tandem master cylinder with 2 ports for the front and 1 port for the rear. The reservoir is split, front and milkymilky rear.