free hit
counters
1990 NA problem with flooding after long drives out - Engine/Ancilliaries - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Knorbert

1990 NA problem with flooding after long drives out

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Esprits, and I seem to have an issue with flooding after the car has been out for a long run, stood for say 1 hour (whilst one munches a bit of pub-grub), and then has trouble starting. The problem is obviously flooding, but it takes literally hours to clear the cylinders unless I take the plugs out. I'm pretty OK with mechanics having owned many classic cars and built a few kits, but I'm relatively stumped about the immediate solution to the flooding issue on the Esprit - the carb mix and balance looks fine.

Can someone please point me in the right direction - I haven't yet got the workshop manual, so need a bit of guidance at this point.

Many thanks and All the Best

Mark

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Hi Andy,

When cold - try starting and it normally fires and runs. If conks, then a judicious use of choke.

When hot - try starting, let it turn over twice and if not starting blip throttle.

Nothing different really to other twin carb set-ups I've had in the recent past. Anything, I should particularly be aware of with the twin 45s on the 2.2 engine?

Cheers

Mark

Hi Andy,

Yes, that was a thought I had. I had tweeked the carbs to run 'just' on the rich side of the nominal at tick-over to avoid lean burning at high acceleration, which is not good for ally engines. I don't think they're running rich enough to flood the engine from startup as it stands - I still have to use choke on a cold day, and in fact a little for most times I've started the car from cold since I've had it.

What I haven't yet worked out with Dellortos (I've previously used Webbers) is if there is a hot start mechanism that may need adjustment or replacement.