free hit
counters
Hi everyone! - Introductions - The Lotus Forums #ForTheOwners Jump to content

Just joined the forum after taking delivery of a 1979 Esprit S2 earlier this week. Having browsed around, it's great to see so much information being shared and what a great online community of Lotus owners you have here! I'm pretty new to all this and have never owned a sports car or undertaken any restoration work before. I worked on road engine design at Cosworth for many years so I know my way around an engine but have never really delved into anything practical. Thankfully, the previous owner took very good care of the car and has provided me with lots of history information. It's been sat in a unit for a few years, so needs a bit of attention but hopefully I can get it on the road in the near future - after all, that's what a Lotus is for! Please be patient with me as I ask lots of newbie questions and don't be shy in telling me if I'm just being dumb!

Anyway, the previous owner listed a few things he thought I should look at: steering rack, brake master cylinder and clutch master cylinder. Hopefully these tasks aren't too daunting. As you can see from the picture, the car is also going to need a new bonnet after the original flew off in a mysterious trailering incident, never to be seen again! It caused a tiny bit of damage to the headlamp pods and ripped the brackets from the bonnet sub-frame / slam plate (just gone to the workshop manual to see if there was a proper name for this bit, but no luck!) but I'm optimistic I can sort this out. I'd be grateful for any advice on a list of things to check over in a bid to make the car roadworthy. Should I just start with the service 'maintenance schedule' from the owner's manual?

Already excited about being a Lotus owner - can't wait to be a Lotus driver!

post-12196-0-42823400-1299361188_thumb.j

Edited by rmorrow

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply