free hit
counters
quick advice wanted - Esprit Chat - The Lotus Forums #ForTheOwners Jump to content

quick advice wanted

dachero

Hello,

first, i'm from belgium and please excuse me for my bad english

i read already a few months here as a guest;

Now i have registrated myself because i have a serious dilemma:

i've owned a Lotus elise mk2 that i have sold last week .

Now i'm looking for a Esprit;

Today my friends and i have been looking for a Esprit S4s

The car has some scratches and other minor problems.

The car has 140000 km = approx 80000 miles;

The engine has been revised in 2005.

a few weeks ago the owner has taken his car for a ride and immediatly at very low speed the timebelt has snapped. Car dead and pushed it home;

My question knowing that i'm no mechanic: should i buy this car?

The owner agreed with me that if i buy the car in it's current state ; -10000 euro discount!

can i do a good deal if i buy it and let a garage restore the engine?

Cost 1000-3000-5000-8000 euro????? I do'nt know????????

if i can get it fixed for less then 6000 euro;then i do a nice deal?

Is the kilometerage not to high?

A lot of questions,i know; If some-one can advise me i'm all ears

Edited by dachero

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

thank you Paul;

the car has only two previous owners with complete history ; The oil-changes and services has been executed on time;

Recent new suspension and brakes;

The owner has bad luck.

Lhd are more expensive here in Belgium;

If i rebuild the engine and the costs are reasonable then i can make a good deal!

But can the high kilometrage be a problem?

merry christmas to