free hit
counters
My first Lotus any advice? - Elite / Eclat / Excel Chat - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
badams

My first Lotus any advice?

Hi All,

I have just bought my first Lotus a 1979 Elite fitted with a Rover V8 engine and autobox i hopefully get the car the end of the week being completely new to Lotus cars is there anything i should be aware of with these cars :unsure: I have owned a couple of Reliant Scimitars if for a short time and they suffered from dodgy elecs ie earths and body crazing/cracking and overheating but i think that was due the Ford lump being in a very tight engine bay :huh: I hope the Lotus will be less troublesome than the Scimitars i have had lots of experience with the bullet proof RV8 lump and know its weaknesses NOT many so any advice or help on my new purchase is very much appreciated ;)

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Hi, your car sounds interesting. I have just sold my Rover V8 Elite to a guy in the Netherlands. You have to watch the chassis on Elites and if your car has been fitted with a galvanised chassis you are laughing. Rear crossmembers go so be sure to check it out well before committing as a new chassis will cost you about £1200 fitted. Nothing else really springs to mind. Elecs etc are tricky on most old cars to be fair. Good luck with your new machine and stick a pic on when you get one! Liam

post-14886-0-73222000-1346161798.jpg

Hi, your car sounds interesting. I have just sold my Rover V8 Elite to a guy in the Netherlands. You have to watch the chassis on Elites and if your car has been fitted with a galvanised chassis you are laughing. Rear crossmembers go so be sure to check it out well before committing as a new chassis will cost you about £1200 fitted. Nothing else really springs to mind. Elecs etc are tricky on most old cars to be fair. Good luck with your new machine and stick a pic on when you get one! Liam

Hi Liam,