free hit
counters
I know this is not a sewing forum but.................. - Esprit Chat - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ginger pig

I know this is not a sewing forum but..................

Hi,

I am just trying to restore some of my leather interior on my horrific purple SE. The thread has all but given up the ghost through ware and tear and reconolisation. I have remove a pannel of the door card (front undersection) and am going to by a new patch of leather and maybe a sewing machine to play around with. Does anyone know what type of stitch to use for:

A. The contrasting red stitch (car is cream and red interior)?

B. What stitch is used to connect the two pannels together?

Any addtional advice would be appreciated.

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Well, I'm no expert but

I have finally fathomed machine sewing and have done my carpets and some leather, headlining and visors. Mostly in my resto blog entries.

I thought I needed an industrial machine but not so. A cheapish standard one will do but these are sometimes sold as semi-industrial!

Can you provide some images?

There is really only straight or zigzag stitch (discounting embroidery stitches) so imho it's more about seams and stitch length.

However I would recommend a stretch stitch so that when you sit on the seat there is a bit of 'give' and you don't split your stitches.

As always practice on a spare bit of leather and buy lots of new needles as the need to be very sharp to sew leather and can get blunt pretty quickly.

Sue

Thanks Guys!

Simon,

When you say cheapish what kind of price are we looking at and what brand/model of machine have you used?

Leave it to the professionals, you'll spend more trying to do it cheaper.

Cheap? Well I would say something between £50-100 secondhand should be about right. Singer or Brother are good.

Something like this!