free hit
counters
Anti Roll Bar bushings replacement for Eclat S1 - Interior/Exterior/Lights/Glass/ICE/HVAC & Other - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Texas v8 Eclat

Anti Roll Bar bushings replacement for Eclat S1

I noticed there was no step by step post on how to change the anti roll bar bushings on an Eclat S1. This will be me first attempt at posting a step by step (worked for me) guide this so please excuse me if I did something wrong. I am a Lotus enthusiast like many others on the forum and although I don't claim to be a professional mechanic; I have built many cars in the past.  I enjoy working on automobiles. I am on my second Eclat and I plan to drive this until the wheels fall off. Agian I am new at this so please excuse if the pictures are not in the correct order.

Step 1 Safety first! always use jack stands no matter how easy you believe the job is. If you plan to work under a vehicle always use jack stands! Below is a pic of my jack, jack stands, and newly purchased ARB bushing kit from SJ Sports Cars.

Step 2 lift the front end by placing the jack under the proper lift points and securing with a jack stand. I used three jack stands for safety's sake. Remove the tires and you will be half way there.

Step 3 I started with the sway bar to chassis bushings first. No special tricks or anything I just removed the bolts and the brackets, the bushings came right off.

Step 4 Start at one wheel and remove the bolt that runs through the bottom of the trunnion and the lower wishbone. Gently pull the wheel assembly off the lower wishbone and this will allow to access to the nut that attaches the sway bar to the wishbone.

Step 5 Remove the sway bar end nut and keep track of how the bushings and washers (common sense) were attached. Follow these steps with the other side and the sway bar is off in no time.

Step 6 Replace the bushings, nuts, bolts, and washers in the order they were removed and reinstall the sway bar as well. Done!