free hit
counters
Advice please, rear suspension - Ride/Handling/Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tyres - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Clive59

Advice please, rear suspension

Hi, I have just started checking things on my newly acquired Elite S1 76. This is probably the first of many requests for help, so thanks in advance.

First, rear suspension. The wheels have a fair bit of camber. Just wondering what is reasonable. I have removed the spare wheel, and the driver side rear wheel, and had a look at the chassis. Happily, it seems fine, no evidence of rust at all. However, the bearing hub has been welded at some point in it's life, but seems like it was nicely done, but I am no expert on welding. It has been like this for >14 years, so has lasted so far, as well as a 1200km drive home when I picked it up. There is some play on the wheel in vertical orientation, indicating some wear in the Uni joints I guess, but no more than 1-2mm I think . There does not appear to be any movement on the passenger side however. When i raise the wheel off the ground, it does go pretty close to vertical again. I haven't checked the dimensions to see if it has been intentionally given extra camber.

When wheel is off the ground, and got my son to try to push top of wheel in, along with the bit of movement of the Uni joint, I saw a little twisting of the trailing arm box section. I expect this is normal. I enclose a few pics to review.

Second, front suspension. Not much yet, I haven't had a close look, but i did notice a small piercing of the body shell by the tip of the shock absorber(pic enclosed). Have i got a problem, or is this common. Again, looking as best I can, no rust on the chassis. And the piercing has not gone through to the other side.

thanks, Clive

post-10210-0-63960300-1359203676.jpg

post-10210-0-85520800-1359203678.jpg

post-10210-0-28311000-1359203681.jpg

post-10210-0-94232900-1359203682.jpg

post-10210-0-11889800-1359203685.jpg

post-10210-0-68199800-1359203687.jpg