free hit
counters
Up your S - Evora Chat - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
mdavies

Up your S

I’m posting this on Evora Chat because if my Evora was an S, I’d be interested. It’s tentative and I have no firm knowledge. (Couldn’t find a mention on the Exige V6 threads - if already well discussed somewhere, please delete this post!)

The EXIGE V6 Cup R, in addition to all the special cosmetic stuff - ok, some is useful - does actually gain where it matters, according to the spec sheets on Lotus’ site.

The Cup R engine is listed at 366 PS @ 7,200 rpm and 413 Nm @ 5,000 rpm.

The Evora S (and other versions of the Exige V6) are 350 PS @ 7,000 rpm and 400 Nm @ 4,500 rpm.

(I’m ignoring what may be a misprint for the Cup R Nm in lb ft. )

The percentage increase doesn’t seem much, but noting the higher revs at which the peak power is gained, I’d guess at something worthwhile across the rev range. It’s possible that the supercharger operation has been boosted, but I’ve had a hint that the extra comes from a bolt-on change to the engine that would give a general torque boost.  I’m guessing that aspect might readily be fitted to other S motors.  I do not know whether there might be ECU or other changes as well.  But if I had an S I’d be looking into the matter.

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

May be exhaust manifold?? or tune?? that what it does to the S moves peak power out to redline and torque down to 4500-5000, the curve is very flat in this region so it can be one 1 point difference over 500+ rpm

these are very different cars from a usability standpoint.. Ask yourself if daily comforts matter. If so, go with the Evora. If not, the Exige is a more compelling choice for the track enthusiast.

Scott, I meant to suggest that it might be possible to use whatever has been done on the EXIGE V6 Cup R on an Evora S.  The best of both!

And I have reason to believe (I won't say "know") that an important element of the "whatever" is the intake system.