free hit
counters
Clutch Chatter - Gearchange/Gearbox/Clutch - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
billstr

Clutch Chatter

I just bought a 2003 Esprit. I'm still learning to drive it really, but I find it's quite a feat to start out in 1st without clutch chatter. Do I just need more practice, is the nature of the dual disk clutch or is there maybe something else to look at?

I can occasionally get rolling smoothly but if I slip the clutch very much at all, the whole back shutters. It seems too easy to end up with this chatter but maybe i just need more practice.

The clutch was replaced by a previous owner at 18k miles and it has about 32k miles on it now.

Edited by billstr

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Try giving it more RPM when you release - if you're in SoCal drop me a note, a few of us usually meet up at Cars and Coffee in Irvine on Saturdays

I'm up in the San Francisco south bay area or I'd love to meet at Cars and Coffee but I may be down in that area sometime.

I'll vary my style a little and raise the revs a bit to see if I can find something that avoids the chatter.

Hi Bill,

Do you have any other symptoms or is it just chatter? Do you have trouble getting gears or anything else gearbox/clutch related?

Cheers,

Steve.

Hi Steve,

Everything else with a gear change is good. It releases clean and goes into all of the gears well. Just a chatter when starting off in 1st gently.

Bill, based on 10years of 918 ownership on road & track

-keep in mind ..this is not the usual US *full size wannagoon* with autobox, nor is it an simple family compact .

What you have there is a twin-plate system, with 'undamped' plates.

..what means there is nothing of those usual springs on the inner hub of the friction plates. So appart from the organic material on the plates there is not much that can cancel frequency overreactions there.

It's just 'yes or no' ..know what I mean?