free hit
counters
Oh that fuel smell....... - Engine/Ancilliaries - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
kehoeautomotive

Oh that fuel smell.......

I am in New Orleans USA and I'm having a great time with my Stevens Lotus! The weather here is perfect for weekend drives and I'm driving my car every chance i get. :rambo:

I've heard about emission lines that crack and make a fuel odor in the vehicle. I have this problem. The lines all look good so I assume that I have to remove my fuel tank. The fuel smell is much stronger on the right side of the vehicle so I assume it is the right side tank.

My service manual does not have any info on tank removal. I have to say my service manual is quite poor actually. I've heard that the parts manual have nice blow ups that help. Any idea where I can get the parts manuals?

Should I tackle this repair myself? I have a lift and lots of tools (I own a repair garage but I am not a mechanic). I just removed and installed the radiator for repair and found the job very easy.

Does the engine have to be removed? Does the tank come out of the top or the bottom of the vehicle? Anyone know of any pics of a vehicle with the tanks exposed? I can't even see the fuel tanks. Just hoses disappearing into a box.

Thanks so much!

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Tanks come out the top. Its not complicated just a lot of stuff to undo/move out of the way and a few rusted on bolts and fittings. The side panels come out ( which have loads of pipes running through them) then the tanks  are clamped in place with a ply panel which may have rotted away.  If you do a forum search there are loads of threads about it. Probably a day for the first side to do out and in then an afternoon for the 2nd side as you will know what you are doing !!. Depending on the tanks shape at the bottom you may or may not be able to remove without lowering the engine ( by removing the l/h  engine mount leg). Mine was a stevens n/a which was easy.