free hit
counters
Front quarter glass insertion - Interior/Exterior/Lights/Glass/Alarms/ICE/HVAC - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Ginger pig

Front quarter glass insertion

Hi Guys,

What sealant would you recommend to use when putting in the above into a door frame?

Has anyone used 'Tiger Seal' or 'Dinitrol'?

Your advise would be much appreciated!

Mark

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Tiger seal is an excellent PU adhesive, I've used it many times without fail.

Dinitrol is a waxoyl type of chassis rust sealer, not something you would want to use on a door frame. :)

This is on my list of jobs for the winter. Let us know how you get on! Just had a look at tiger seal and if it does what it says on the tin it looks ideal but I am no expert.

Pete

I have used tiger seal loads of times and well pleased with the results, my 37 year old Eclat rear windows are held in with Tiger seal and have been perfect.

I used the black adhesive from car builder solutions for my rear 1/4 lights and the one in the door frames with no problems  over a year later. 

Another vote for Sika flex here.

What ever you use though, make sure you get the corresponding glass/body etch primers though. Without these, any product will have a sub-optimal bond.

Cheers guys,

Varied comments!

I was tempted to go the Tiger Seal route but ended up buying Sila Flex.

I found a multi tool best for cutting out the older sealent (was the original stuff from Lotus that requires electrical current to soften), which meant I could remove the glass..

I will start on Sunday and let you know the results.

Mark

did you also get the Sika 206 G+P primer?

I tried with and without primer, primer needs to be on the glass and the window frame where the urethane adhesive will go.  

Hi All,

A little progress report:

Took out the old frames which was easy enough (although when taking out the window motor; the nut on the lower retaining bolt is an absolute bitch to get to).