free hit
counters
Seat foam - what's best - Interior/Exterior/Lights/Glass/ICE/HVAC & Other - The Lotus Forums Jump to content

In my Eclat the driver's side seat is looking just a little tired in the posterior area ;)

Looks like the form has collapsed a little and needs replacing.  Now I think it's removable and replaceable, but is there any specific foam that I should be looking to get and cut to shape, or will just any old dense foam from a furniture place do?

Sorry for the influx of noob questions but, with these cars, I'm a noob!

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Finally got around to taking the driver's seat out of the car today, and as always, the job is turning out to be more long-winded than I thought.  Seat came out easily enough, but then I've seen that

You can get foam online with all sorts of hardness ratings (I have recently built x2 art deco sofa's!) and it can be easily shaped with an electric carving knife.

My two fronts seats will be on eBay soon.

Posted Images

I can see from the photo that 35 years of entries and exits have deformed the seat bolsters which are made of foam or similar.

In an ideal world replacing the foams with the factory shaped ones would rectify this.

I have no idea if they are still available. I think I have the part numbers if you need them.

Alternatively a good automotive upholsterer would do wonders.

The original foam was moulded to a complex shape when created.  

I had a look at this problem a couple of years ago, spoke to LotusBits, and the consensus was that it isn't practical to try to recreate the foam, either from blocks or by mixing up foam form scratch and moulding it.  It is much easier to find a better second-hand seat.