free hit
counters
Worst DIY mechanic jobs - Lotus / Motoring / Cars Chat - The Lotus Forums Jump to content

Worst DIY mechanic jobs

Prompted by 4.5 hours to change an alternator on a Saab 9-5. Reputed that some franchises drop the entire sub frame, engine and drive train. Still 180k on it so unlikely to need to do this again.

What's the worst job you've done?

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Did you cut a notch in the lip of the opening for the engine cover?  Might not be stock, but it gives more room to remove it and you'll never see the modification with the cover in place. Here's a lin

It's a common misconception that I was an aircraft engineer.  Although I worked in engineering and, through my love of aircraft learnt a hell of a lot about how they go together, I was in fact the IT

Now is that cable tying the handbrake on or cable tying the child up in front of the tv Didn't think you could weld ss to standard steel?? Live and learn

Posted Images

The cam belt on my Mitsubishi Legnum - you have to dismantle half the car before you can get at it.

Removing the pedal box from my Turbo Esprit. You need the hands of a child and fairy sized spanners.

:)

It's getting there......

Ask Sparky about a clutch change on a Meriva! :lol:

88 Esprit NA, 89 Esprit Turbo SE, Evora, Evora S, Evora IPS, Evora S IPS, Evora S IPS SR, Evora 400, Elise S1, Elise S1 111s, Evora GT410 Sport

Evora NA

For forum issues, please contact the Moderators. I will aim to respond to emails/PM's Mon-Fri 9-6 GMT. 

Water pump replacement, took three goes, lots of scratches all over my chest :(