free hit
counters
1978 Esprit S2 Door & Ignition Key - Interior/Exterior/Lights/Glass/Alarms/ICE/HVAC - The Lotus Forums #ForTheOwners Jump to content

1978 Esprit S2 Door & Ignition Key

Hi,

I am new to the Lotus line and to this forum. I have a basic, maybe even silly question, here it is:

For a 1978 Lotus Esprit S2, did they come with two seperate keys, one for the door and another for the ignition?

I was told that the door key is smaller than the ignition key and therefor there are two different keys, One for the Door, and one for the Ignition.

Would someone be kind enough to clear this up for me.

Thank you.

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

you are lucky :) i have 4 keys 1 ignition, 1 doors, 1 boot, 1 petrol caps :)

Dodgy

OH, And welcome to the forum Bob:D

say hello in the newbies section, so as we can all get to know you :)

have fun,

Dave

Edited by dodgy154

Лотос - для тех которые знают разницу

ENIGMA for those who are paranoid or download one :)

you are lucky :) i have 4 keys 1 ignition, 1 doors, 1 boot, 1 petrol caps :)

Dodgy

OH, And welcome to the forum Bob:D

say hello in the newbies section, so as we can all get to know you :)

have fun,

Dave

Hi and thanks for the fast response. So, just so I am 100% clear, they came from the factory like that? Multiple keys that is?

Thanks

Geez! - let a pre 80 S2 answer! heh heh heh :)

Welcome to the forum - The 79 S2 has a large ignition key and a small door key (both door are key'd alike). No boot or fuel cap key on that model.

When I got my car it only had the ignition key, and for $7.50 I got a key (plus spare) made for the doors.

Hope this helps.

Iain B)