free hit
counters
Speedo angle drive removal advice - Engine & Ancilliaries/Gearbox - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
directordanw

Speedo angle drive removal advice

The speedo on my Eclat S2.2 isn't working.  I've eliminated the speedo cable and speedo itself by the very scientific method of connecting them up to a cordless drill.  So the next port of call has to be the angle drive.  Mine is very loose in the side of the Getrag box - not as in lateral movement but it can be rotated by hand.  Is this right?  And how does it come out?  There's a threaded barrel going into the side of the box with a nut on it and then another threaded barrel that attaches to the drive itself.  I'm assuming the nut stays on the box but has anyone got any advice/brilliant solutions as to how to grab hold of the drive tight enough to loosen this nut?  And I'm guessing some oil will come out with it, but not a lot?

Thanks all, Dan

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

I have no experience of the Getrag angle drive, but every angle drive I've seen is just screwed onto the gearbox by large brass sleeve with a thread inside.  This is meant to be hand-tight, but you usually end up need a pair of gland-nut pliers to loosen it (stick a rag in the jaws to reduce the scarring of the brass.

The chances are the flexible square pin that goes into the gearbox has sheered off. This is engineered to be the failure point, I believe, to avoid breaking anything more expensive.  I had an angle drive once where someone had replaced the pin with a shaved-down six inch nail....