free hit
counters
Another Italian thinking about a V6 - V6 Exige Chat - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
giorgiozeta

Another Italian thinking about a V6

Hi guys!

Here there's another one : )

I currently own a FAST Duratec S1...it's a great car on track and for insane fast mountine driving, but certainly not a good cruiser when going to the Nurburging!

That is why some years ago I bought a trailer...but now I am getting bored of carrying it around: the time for trackdays is always less in my life and those 3-4 times a year that I go I would like to drive more practically my car to the track, lap it all day long and then to come back driving like I did when I was a BMW driver.

First idea was a second hand 997 GT3...but now it's some day that I've got a monkey on the shoulders saying "you are a Lotus guy inside your bones, take a V6".

First idea was a Cup.

But I see great videos of pretty stock V6Ss on track on YouTube...I am wondering if taking one of these spending something in engine and suspension upgrades: some comfortable seats, noise insulation and a stereo could be good fellows on the road to the Nordschleife or Spa!

I've many questions but the main at the moment are:

1) the brakes: are two pieces discs even bigger than stocks? Is it there a real difference in terms of performances or in vibrations in respect to the standard ones?

2) my S1 has a proper Quaife LSD and I love drifting corners on the road: would I miss it on a V6 or does the E-diff consent to play with the rear end without loosing traction in the half of the corner like it typically happens with open diffs?

Look forward to read your suggestions and comments!

Giorgio

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.