free hit
counters
Never has a man curbed his alloys so many times on one car.... - Ride/Handling/Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tyres - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
LazyDonkey

Never has a man curbed his alloys so many times on one car....

Please tell me it's not just me!

I've been driving for 23 years and i can safely say i've never ever curbed alloys as many times as i've done in this car. 

It's mainly just been the drivers rear but this morning i somehow managed to do the passenger rear too.

FFS. 

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Not just you Martin.

It's the 'fat woman backend' on the car. I even did it once just by 'rolling back' slightly in a carpark. Scratched it on a curb and didnt even realise!

The tyres offer no rim protection either. The 400 has addressed this with fatter tyres.

Ditto.  I've been driving for 40 and I doubt if you added up every kerbing you would hit the total on Evoras.  Not helped with Dunblane high street being very narrow, with kinks, with parking on one side only and having to squeeze past badly parked cars and all the kebs being those right angled granite types. The first cars with black rims though which make it look worse of course.

You are in good company according to Craig as well.  I am looking at those Gator strips seriously although Craig is a bit anti saying boy racer.  I'm not so sure and they don't have to be bright different colours.

I find my Esprit its very easy to do too. Just pulling up to a kerb. Not sure if its as my BBS are very soft or just one of those things!

Buddsy

Have to agree. As Bibs said, the lack of tire overhang makes it even more easy to curbb the rears. 

Phew - makes me glad I decided not to get the kerbing fixed before I pick my new car up! I was worried I'd kerb it straight away, so decided to give it a few months, sounds like that was proably the right decision!