free hit
counters
Tyre pressures v6 cup - Ride/Handling/Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tyres - The Lotus Forums Jump to content

I've just checked my tyre pressures today, to be honest for the first time though my car has still only done 900miles.  I was surprised to find the owners manual states front 32psi and rear 38psi.

38psi seem pretty high, though this is my first v6 rwd car so I'm not that experienced in this area.

I was wondering if anyone could offer an opinion as to my the pressure on the rear is so high.

Thanks

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Same as the coupe. It's what we run on the road, dropping to 30 on track.

So you are saying for normal road use, front 32psi and rear 38psi, whilst for track driving front 32psi and 30psi.

Or are both front and rear 30psi when on track.

Normal road use 32/38, track 30 all round. Some good threads on here regarding it, particularly one on dealing with understeer:

http://www.thelotusforums.com/forums/topic/68930-exige-s-dealing-with-understeer/

http://www.thelotusforums.com/forums/topic/72950-track-day-tyre-pressures/

just to add, if you leave 38 psi in the rears on a hot track day, the car turns into bambi on ice!

• Like 1

This is what I do not understand. With 38 psi the rear is slippery, with 32 psi I ruined my tyres.

20572129re.jpg

They look like Trofeo - remember they have very little tread on the outside shoulder to start with. I was getting about 4 track days out of a set of rear, would have expected mine to look like that after one dry.

Just gone over to Corsa (don't like them as much - different story), but after 4 track days they still look better than the Trofeo after one, would say there was another 4 at least in them. Running them 30 all round on track also.

Now that Lotus have stopped supplying diamond cut alloys, I think i'm going to order some Team dynamic pro race alloys and wrap them in Avon ZZR.