Web
Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter
S2 resurrection after 25 years in storage - Esprit 'Project & Restoration' Room - The Lotus Forums - Official Lotus Community Partner Jump to content

IGNORED

S2 resurrection after 25 years in storage

Some of you may have seen my intro post. I've recently purchased a 79 lotus S2. I think it's a JP edition however I'm researching to confirm. I'm not fussed either way.

I purchased it sight unseen as a basket case.

Hopefully I'll have the time to strip this puppy down and rebuild from the ground up. I'm hoping to complete this project within the next 18 months. Now there's a challenge. Mental note to buy the wife some flowers. Lots of them!

I've restored various vehicles over the years, most recently a 912 and a 356's. I love the restoration process although I'm a bit of a novice.

I'm new to lotus. I was really surprised at the lack of information that's available compared to other popular Marques. This forum and the moderators are a blessing! How in gods name did anyone restore pre Internet?.

For the record I thought I would upload a few pics so there's a reference point.

The engine turns over and that's about as good as it gets with this thing. Oh, and the door locks.

I'll chime in again once it's arrived at my place which will be in a couple of weeks time.

post-18969-0-13646800-1430225849.jpgpost-18969-0-12415500-1430227323.jpg

post-18969-0-29216900-1430227363.jpg

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Gold FFM

Going by the Lotus data plate and signs of over spray it's had a paint job at some point, but regardless, good luck with her.

I need to take the body off the chassis and was wondering if there is a post that could give me some pointers? I've had a look but haven't found anything that goes into detail.

Many thanks