free hit
counters
Wiper motor & linkage replacement (& washers) - Interior/Exterior/Lights/Glass/Alarms/ICE/HVAC - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Sparky

Wiper motor & linkage replacement (& washers)

My wiper park hasn't worked forever, the pivot leaks like a sieve, and I have a broken washer nozzle.  Trev (the man who can find anything) sourced a new motor and full linkage recently for a steal, and Tracy got me some new nozzles.  The motor (there are 2 types) is the wrong one, but hopefully it just means changing the loom.

So, time to bite the bullet and attempt to do an Esprit job I've never done before, but have always dreaded.  Not even sure it can be done without a major stripdown!  I'm going in...

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

:scared:

Good luck! Be great if you could take some pictures along the way.

My wiper works OK but the mechanism sounds a bit 'clunky' so this is something I'll be investigating when I remove my interior trim for a refurb later this year as I understood it was a dash out job  :cry:

I'll stand to be corrected but I think the mechanism on your's will be the same as on my 1990...(?)

post-4129-0-70178100-1431706637.jpg

Wow, what a mare. I had to send out for another box of expletives.

Yes, it will be the same setup, and it could well be dash out! But I like to see if I can break the rules. Not looking good though.

I may abort the silliness and just refurb this one, we'll see.

Took a few pics, but difficult to get in there with a camera. Will post up later.

Crap pics from underneath - well, maybe not, as they do represent what I was seeing!  Just one worth posting, and that's rubbish.

First get rid of as much ducting as possible.  Be careful around cabling and vacuum pipes.  Best to remove the N/S windscreen vent, and this tool is invaluable for that (good for dash speakers too):

post-4129-0-07572100-1431712913.jpg

Here's the top wiper motor mount and, at last, a view of the N/S washer nozzle.