free hit
counters
Air/Vacuum Leak? - Engine/Ancilliaries - The Lotus Forums Jump to content

Hi Everyone

I recently stripped my inlet manifold to paint plenum backplate etc.

I did not separate the throttle bodies from linkage or adjust linkage....i kept it all intact.

I put it all back together with new gaskets, checked surfaces for high points etc as i am a fairly competant home mechanic and i am used to stopping air leaks, fitting gaskets etc.

While i had it apart i had my injectors cleaned by a reputable company and checked these by use of an injector pulsation tool before i put them back in.

I also fitted all new vac lines and tested vac fittings and lines using a vacuum pump. I also tested map sensor readings with a vac pump and all is fine there.

Now when i start her up she has high idle revs and to cure this the minimum air rate screw has to be turned so far out that it no longer makes proper contact with the throttle stop (throttle butterflies fully closed) before i can get the counts off zero to about 15.

There are no restrictions causing the butterflies to stick slightly open either.

I am very careful when it comes to air leaks so i am surprised that this has happened but this must be an air leak.... right?

I have sprayed over the manifold with brake cleaner but can find nothing!

So my question is......before i restrip and regasket and check for manifold cracks is there something i could be missing as i am pulling out what hair i have left!

Could anything else cause this????

If you think like myself that it has to be a vacuum leak let me know too!

Many thanks for any replies in advance.

Pete

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic