free hit
counters
Running into the Rev Limiter - Engine & Ancillaries/Gearbox - The Lotus Forums #ForTheOwners Jump to content

Running into the Rev Limiter

Good Morning,

I always wondered if it "hurts" the engine at all to run into the rev limiter or to even stay at the limiter for a couple of seconds (on track). On some tracks (e.g. Spa or Bilster Berg) I found it to be faster to stay at the limiter for a short period of time than to short shift or briefly up shift.

I do not think this should cause any damage or excessive wear to the engine as the limiter is there to protect the engine ... but as I am not a engineer and I had a conversation recently with a Lotus Sales Guy in Germany that was insisting that this is a big "no go" and might even cause Lotus to decline waranty if it is done frequently?!? ... I am a little confused... I still firmly believe I am right but I wanted to get some other opinion on that...

Thanks for your help ;-)

Cheers

Norbert

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.
  • Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Nope... a AIM one ! The "GARW" dash has still to be released ...

Pretty pointless having a limiter if it doesn't come in before you might cause damage.  I certainly wouldn't hold the car on the limiter, but bouncing off it occasionally can't be bad. In my exper

The answer depends quite a bit on how the cut is implemented - ignition cut or fuel cut or both at the same time or both sequentially. If it does stop injecting mixture at some point but is also coole

Posted Images

Pretty pointless having a limiter if it doesn't come in before you might cause damage. :X

I certainly wouldn't hold the car on the limiter, but bouncing off it occasionally can't be bad. In my experience (and speaking very generally) engines have usually given their best before this point so it's not something I intentionally do.

• Like 1