free hit
counters
Excel, Whats it worth? - Elite / Eclat / Excel Chat - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
charles b

Excel, Whats it worth?

Good afternoon, Massive newbie here. I have been looking for an Excel for a while and one has surfaced on eBay.  Its a 1987 Excel 2.0 with 35,000 miles on the clock. I have looked at the DVLA MOT history service and its seems to have a consistent mileage and a very healthy MOT history although it has had 9 owners. I have spoken to the vendor and he seems like a genuine chap. The car is described as in excellent condition with some age related marks and has a red (!) cloth interior and silver bodywork. It also has the optional AC. My problem is I have no real idea of its approximate value. I have looked on other classifieds and there doesn't seem to be much consistency. Please could one of the experts out there give me some idea of its value, so I have some idea of where my bidding limit should be?  I am going to look at the car on Saturday and believe myself to be a competent judge of classic car condition. However, is there anything out of the ordinary that I should look at?

Many, many thanks and if someone knows about any other cars available, it would be great to get those details also.

Charles. 

lotus 1.jpg

lotus 2.jpg

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Hi Charles

Welcome to the forum. Wherabouts are you?

Been up for sale for quite a while, with the same pictures - check Cazana - clicky - you'll have to sign up to get to see the photos & ads. I think someone on here has been to see it as I'm fairly sure that I discussed it with them.

My main concern with the car is that although it has been regularly MOT'd, it hasn't done many miles between tests - i.e. 34935 in 07/2017,  34310 in 10/2007, so 600 miles in 10 years. When I bought mine, it had done 3000 miles in 15 years, and I had to spend another £3k+ getting evertything working. Have driven ~20k over the last three years.