free hit
counters
Track Driving intro....? - Trackdays - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Cads

Track Driving intro....?

Hello everyone -

I’m looking at introducing myself to a bit of track driving. I’ve never done it before but I’d just be looking to learn how to handle my Exige bit better, exploring a few limits and generally just having some fun with it. 

So far I’ve looked at some tuition slots on track days but I’m not sure if that's the right environment for a complete beginner (or is it?).

My other option was the basic Lotus License at Hethel.

Has anyone got any better suggestions or experience of this? 

Any thoughts greatly appreciated…

Thanks guys.

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

Neil, the Lotus Licence at Hethel is a good introduction to more advanced car control, or the alternative is to spend some time with instructor on circuit. I'd heartily recommend our very own @david_pittard, he's an excellent instructor and very well thought of by our members

http://www.davidpittard.co.uk/performance-coaching/

This topic from Alistair is worth a read too, some really good info in there :)

You’re already way ahead of most novices by understanding the value of some tuition. There are some novice only trackdays but generally you’ll find the Exige to be fast and capable without trying too hard. You may well be surprised with what you can keep up with. Take it easy especially early on, go at your own pace and ignore what everyone else is doing. Most trackdays have fairly well enforced overtaking rules, primarily for novices to make everything simpler and less intimidating.