free hit
counters
The gearbox - what breaks? - Engine & Ancilliaries/Gearbox - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
JayEmm

The gearbox - what breaks?

Okay, I'm curious. I keep seeing people talking about upgraded Evoras/Exiges etc....

It appears to be a well known fact that the engine is extremely reliable and durable (to a point), but the weak point for anyone upgrading their car is the gearbox. JMG said so in an interview he did talking about the 430.

I am curious, what is it in the gearbox that is going to break? I believe a few years ago a company upgraded Esprit gearboxes to take the V8's power better, not sure they are still around though. Is something similar possible with an Evora?

I know the 400 has a meatier clutch than the S (as does the Exige 430), so that's one point of failure - but what inside the box breaks? I know Lotus replace gears 3-6 with their own, is it the gears themselves that break or something else? I'm not an expert in these matters I am just very curious. I suspect there are plenty of these boxes at breakers yards from the Toyotas they were originally used in.

Upgrade today to remove Google ads and support TLF.

You'll be surprised how expensive gearboxes are from breakers.

As many on here know, my GTE gearbox exploded after only a couple of thousand miles of relatively gentle use. Following replacement, I don't know if Lotus ever collected it from Silverstone for analysis, but my guess is that Lotus re-assembled it incorrectly after they installed their ratios and that eventually something worked loose and was shot through the casing under load.

3rWhb4E.jpg

Search is your friend. ;)

Those articles I have read previously but neither seemed to provide definitive answers.

I have personally always felt like the 400 is torque limited in 1st and 2nd. Perhaps it is just the car's natural grip but it does NOT feel as rabid as I think it should. They pull harder in 3rd than 2nd I think. But maybe it's a placebo effect of some sort.