free hit
counters
Esprit S3 backdate/mod/project - Esprit 'Project & Restoration' Room - The Lotus Forums Jump to content
Lindz

Esprit S3 backdate/mod/project

Chapter 1: Folded Paper.

So about a year and a half or maybe two years ago my friend Tony wouldn't shut up about how we should get Lotus Esprits because they're at a lull in the market and who doesn't want a mid-engined sports car from your childhood? That, like most dumb group chat ideas (we had roped our good buddy Brenden in about a year ago) took various sidetracks - one of which ended up being X180s, etc.

But first, I guess a briefly why I embraced my obsession for this car.

It all came from my favorite concept car, the Maserati Boomerang - a Giugiaro masterpiece. And another obsession is Lotus in general and Colin Chapman's incessant creativity in racing. I'm a car designer, so of course I like the late 60s, early 70s Italian wedges.

1974-lotus-esprit-49.jpg

lotus_esprit_idgg_01_1.jpg
1974-lotus-esprit-50.jpg

Anyway, we kinda hovered around and I balked at a few cars that would have been great to own. By this point though I had done a shit ton of research (quite a bit lurking on TLF) and landed squarely between 2 models. S2 as a first choice based on looks or S3 based on... dreams? that I could have some sort of Singer-backdated-964-chassis-to-look-like-73-RS-911 type of project. There are only 2 problems with S3's: first they have the 80's Turbo bumpers and... well, they weren't sold in the US.

At this point Tony was like "Dude get an X180. They're cheaper, better, more common over here, etc." And they are, but they don't have that iconic look that the early Giugiaro-styled cars have. Performance-wise this is the way to go. But I'm an idiot, and also the performance itch for me is handled with the track bike so who cares kinda thing.