1Simon Deacon and Andy Napier claimed the SuperSport and Production championships respectively in an incident-packed final round of the 2013 Lotus Cup UK season at Snetterton yesterday (Sunday 27 October).

Poleman Ken Savage battled with Steve Train, Ben Hetherington and Jamie Stanley in the opening laps, but the former two retired early on under an extended safety car period caused by Rob Fenn’s stranded Elise and then a further incident at the initial restart. This gave Deacon and Napier a boost in their title aspirations as full points were awarded after the first hour.

The pace settled down in the second half of the race, with the key contenders concentrating on classifying at the finish, and the 15 bonus points awarded to each driver running at the end. This have the guesting Gavan Kershaw a perfect opportunity to stamp his authority on the proceedings, after team mate Ossy Yusuf handed the Evora over to him during the earlier safety car period. Even a penalty for a pitstop infringement couldn’t spoil the result, with Production class winners Craig Denman and Dave Carr taking their class despite a similar delay.

Adam Gore and Andrew Bentley dominated the concluding round of the Elise Trophy which took place the day before, taking a win apiece. Bentley took pole position in a rain-disrupted session, but Gore fought back in the opening race to take the lead at mid-distance, which he held to the flag. The pair fought to the front of the second encounter, but this time Bentley was wise to the challenge and took the victory. Craig Denman was on for a pair of podium.

Images courtesy of Snappyracers.com

Elise Trophy and LoTRDC sprint series to gain championship status in 2014

The successful Lotus on Track Elise Trophy has been granted outline approval by the MSA to achieve Championship status in 2014.

The Elise Trophy has grown into one of the UK’s biggest club racing series since its inception in 2007 and continues to provide the perfect environment for novice competitors graduating from trackdays. More than 100 drivers have taken their first steps in the series, including former BBC F1 commentator Jake Humphrey and Land Speed Record holder Wing Commander Andy Green.

Also new for 2014 will be a sprint championship, subject to MSA approval. The ‘Lotus Cup UK Speed Championship’ will cater for similar cars seen on the tracks in the Lotus Cup UK Production & Supersport championships. The championship is expected to provide a stepping stone between trackdays and racing for Lotus enthusiasts.

LoTRDC will continue their long association with MotorSport Vision Racing with these two new championships. They will join Lotus Cup UK and the highly successful Lotus Cup Europe, which achieved FIA International Series status in 2013. Elise Trophy cars will continue to be eligible for the Production class in these championships too.

Elise Trophy 2014 Calendar

  • 30th March – Snetterton 300
  • 26th April – Silverstone
  • 18th May – Brands Hatch Indy
  • 14th June – Oulton
  • 10th-12th July – Spa-Francorchamps
  • 16th-17th August – Brands Hatch GP
  • 21th September – Donington
  • 26th October – Snetterton 300


Leave your comment below...